Society of Early Americanists Council of Officers
Executive Officers, 2023 – 2025

Sandra M. Gustafson
(University of Notre Dame)

Kelly Wisecup
Vice President
(Northwestern University)

Kirsten Silva Gruesz
Executive Coordinator
(University of California, Santa Cruz)

Advisory Officers

Immediate Past President, Ralph Bauer (University of Maryland)
SEAN Editor, Mary M. Balkun (Seton Hall University)
Webmaster, Jeremy Dibbell (Binghamton University Libraries)
Media and Communications Chair, James M. Greene (Indiana State University)
DEI Officer, April Langley (University of South Carolina)
EARAM-L Moderator, Cathy Rex (University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire)
At-Large Representative, Timothy Sweet (West Virginia University)
SEA Junior Scholars’ Caucus co-chair, Kaitlin Tonti (Seton Hall University)

Past Presidents

2021-23: Ralph Bauer, University of Maryland
2019-21: Patrick M. Erben, University of West Georgia
2017-19: Gordon Sayre, University of Oregon
2015-17: Laura M. Stevens, University of Tulsa
2013-15: Kristina Bross, Purdue University
2011-13: Hilary E. Wyss, Trinity College
2009-11: Susan Imbarrato, Minnesota State University Moorhead
2007-09: Thomas W. Krise, University of Guam
2005-07: Dennis Moore, Florida State University
2003-05: Zabelle Stodola, University of Arkansas at Little Rock
2001-03: Philip Gould, Brown University
1999-01: David S. Shields, University of South Carolina
1997-99: Sharon Harris, University of Connecticut
1995-97: Rosemary Fithian Guruswamy, Radford University
1990-95: Carla Mulford, Founding President, Pennsylvania State University


Ralph Bauer
(University of Maryland)

Patrick M. Erben
University of West Georgia
Image of Gordon Sayre
Gordon Sayre
University of Oregon
Image of Laura M. Stevens
Laura M. Stevens
University of Tulsa
Kristina Bross
Kristina Bross
Purdue University
Hilary E. Wyss
Hilary E. Wyss
Trinity College
Thomas W. Krise
Thomas W. Krise
University of Guam
Dennis Moore
Dennis Moore
Florida State University
Zabelle Stodola
Zabelle Stodola
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Philip Gould
Philip Gould
Brown University
David S. Shields
David S. Shields
University of South Carolina

What's New/Announcements

2024 EAL Book Prize Nominations Sought February 16, 2024

The editors of Early American Literature are pleased to announce the annual Early American Literature Book Pri...

SEA Featured Scholar, January 2024: Aaron Brown January 30, 2024

SEA Featured Scholar, January 2024: Aaron Brown How did you become interested in studying early American li...

Junior Scholars’ Caucus Virtual Roundtable: “The ‘Ins and Outs’ of Job Documents,” 11 November 2023 October 17, 2023

The Society of Early Americanists’ Junior Scholars’ Caucus is excited to announce “The ‘Ins and Outs...